top of page

NSO: Haigh, Buckley & Dennehy

Friday 26th April 2024, 7.30pm

Venue: Main Stage, NCH

Tickets: €20

Multi-Concert Discount Packages available


National Symphony Orchestra

David Brophy, conductor

Iarla Ó Lionáird, voice

Stephen Waarts, violin 

Robin Haigh SLEEPTALKER (2021) [Irish premiere]

Linda Buckley Tuile agus Trá (2024) [world premiere]

Donnacha Dennehy Violin Concerto (2020) [Irish premiere] 

From dreamlike, clouded visions of the future to fiery, virtuosic playing on the edge of possibility, this performance by the National Symphony Orchestra features two Irish premieres alongside the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by award-winning Irish composer Linda Buckley.


Described as ‘magnificently expressive’ (New York Times), vocalist Iarla Ó Lionáird is the featured soloist in Buckley’s Tuile agus Trá, which forms the centrepiece of this programme. Opening the concert is SLEEPTALKER by Robin Haigh (2023 recipient of the NCH Jerome Hynes Young Composer Award), an atmospheric exploration of dreams as metaphors for predictions of the future—while Donnacha Dennehy's Violin Concerto with internationally acclaimed soloist Stephen Waarts brings the evening to a thrilling conclusion.

Linda Buckley’s Tuile agus Trá is commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra and New Music Dublin.

bottom of page