top of page
Four people in dark clothing looking at the camera

Evlana - Méadú

Date: Saturday 22nd April

Time: 3.00pm

Venue: The Studio, National Concert Hall

Tickets €14


Isabelle O’Connell, piano
Sylvia O’Brien, soprano
Keith Pascoe, violin

Lidia Jewloszewicz-Clarke, violin
William Dowdall, flute
Nathan Sherman, viola
Yseult Cooper Stockdale, cello

George Crumb Apparition for soprano and amplified piano (1979)

Solfa Carlile Dystopia for flute (2010)

Fergus Johnston Méadú for violin, piano and electronics (2001)

Jenn Kirby Surrounding for flutes and electronics (2023) [Evlana/NMD commission - world premiere]

Seóirse Bodley Earlsfort Suite for soprano and piano (1999 - 2000)

Missy Mazzoli A Thousand Tongues for cello and electronics (2011)

Pamela Z And the Movement of the Tongue for string quartet and tape (2012) [Irish premiere]

Placing contemporary music at the heart of its programming, pioneering chamber group Evlana provides an opportunity for Ireland’s most accomplished performers and composers to produce and perform their work. Join them at this afternoon concert to hear a thrilling programme of pieces for diverse musical forces written between the late 20th century and the present day.

Hot off the press, Jenn Kirby’s Surrounding will receive its world premiere at this performance, alongside Irish premieres from two of the most exciting composers on the New York scene today— Pamela Z and Missy Mazzoli. The ensemble also marks Seóirse Bodley's 90th birthday with his NCH-commissioned Earlsfort Suite, and performs George Crumb's enthralling display piece Apparition—a true celebration of music of our time.

Jenn Kirby Surrounding 7’ commissioned by Evlana and New Music Dublin with funds from the Arts Council of Ireland.


Book Now Button
Book Now Button
bottom of page