top of page

Crash Ensemble: 

This Is The Space/Part I

World premieres from up-and-coming Irish composers alongside new music set to film.


Date: Saturday 24th April

Time: 3.30pm

Venue: Live streamed for free from Smock Alley

Duration: 1hr

Three brand new works from Darragh Kelly, Gemma Doherty and Ultan O’Brian as part of Free State 13, commissioned by Crash and NMD, alongside [REACTIONS] - new music from Anselm McDonnell, Seán Ó Dálaigh, Rachael Lavelle and Stephen Shannon (Mount Alaska) set to film by videographer Laura Sheeran.

Free State is the 13th edition of Crash’s open submission for up-and-coming composers from, or resident in, Ireland. Composers were selected from an anonymous open submission call, commissioned by Crash Ensemble and New Music Dublin and this year mentored by acclaimed Irish composer Andrew Hamilton. 


Free State provides incubation for new work, a professional platform for its presentation, supporting composers through having work commissioned, mentored, workshopped, performed, promoted and recorded. 

Free State Composers

Darragh Kelly
Gemma Doherty
Ultan O’Brian


Crash Ensemble
Ryan McAdams


Andrew Hamilton

Read more about Free State 13

[REACTIONS] An honest, human and emotive response for now and the future.
Amidst the onset of the global pandemic, in 2020, Crash Ensemble commissioned 9 Irish composers - established, up and coming and from outside of the contemporary music sphere - to write unique new works for duos within the group. 

Composers were asked to create a musical response - a political or personal response to their experiences, the current state, or their thoughts for the future.


Filmmaker Laura Sheeran was commissioned to make an accompanying film for each work, combining footage from the recording sessions alongside text and imagery.


Anselm McDonnell
Seán Ó Dálaigh
Rachael Lavelle
Stephen Shannon (Mount Alaska) 

Crash Ensemble


Laura Sheeran

Read more about [REACTIONS]

bottom of page