RTÉ Concert Orchestra plays Pärt and Andriessen

RTÉ Concert Orchestra plays Pärt and Andriessen
Saturday 2 March, 7.30pm
Main Auditorium
RTÉ Concert Orchestra
Reinbert de LeeuwConductor
Arvo PärtSymphony No. 4
Louis AndriessenDe Staat

Music as a political tool as conceived by two of Europe's elder statesmen of composition, two remarkably individual voices, both of whom strive for a purity of approach but with startlingly different results. Arvo Pärt's Symphony No. 4 is a recent work (2009) that offers direct criticism of Russian President Vladimir Putin. Pärt dedicates this work to Mikhail Khodorkovsky, the Russian oil executive and political dissident who has been jailed by Putin. It is also offered to all Russians jailed without rights. Andriessen's De Staat (1976) considers the relationship of music to politics; how it can and can't have an influence. Regarded as a seminal work of contemporary European composition, its dynamic, pulsating score has attracted a strong cult following over its lifetime. This is the Irish premiere of both works.